Skip to Content

Phases of Cardiac Rehabilitation

Cardiac rehabilitation process generally follows three phases:

Phase I

This process begins when the patient enters the hospital, and a cardiovascular condition has been identified.

Patients and their families are taught about cardiac disease, how to modify risk factors and how to return to a maximum level of functioning upon leaving the hospital. Phase I rehabilitation also includes telemetry-monitored exercise, nutrition counseling, stress management consultations and smoking awareness as needed. 

Phase II

Phase II rehab helps patients and their families adjust to heart disease and modify their lifestyle. The 12-week, 36-session program starts immediately after discharge from the hospital. It includes telemetry-monitored exercise, nutrition and stress management consultations, smoking awareness classes and CPR training.

Phase III

This is a maintenance program that lets patients continue lifestyle modification through non-telemetry-monitored exercise and shorter versions of nutritional, stress management and smoking awareness counseling. It may also be used by individuals with a high risk of cardiovascular disease to prevent future problems.